DIY: Natural Bug Spray That Works

 

DIY Bug Spray PDF

I’ve always loved bonfires and camping but no matter how much bug spray I wear I always turn into a mosquito buffet. Not to mention the noxious smell and sticky “I have to take a shower ASAP” feeling that goes along with commercial bug spray. I’ve also read several articles touting the horrible side effects of DEET and other chemicals included in store bought sprays.

After searching the interweb for something natural that would really work I created this spray. I’ve worn it several times for bonfires and I haven’t gotten a bite since (and my husband who never wore bug spray because “they don’t bite me” is now eaten alive). The only odd phenomena I did notice was that the occasional mosquito would still land on me. But they would never bite, I would just feel them land for a second and then they were gone. So without further adieu here’s what worked for me:

  • 1 ounce boiled or distilled water
  • 3/4 ounce witch hazel
  • 24 drops lemon essential oil
  • 10 drops peppermint essential oil
  • 6 drops eucalyptus essential oil

Mix all ingredients in a small spray bottle and shake well before using. I generally spray this on all of my exposed skin as well as lightly on my clothes. Just make sure you don’t spray in your eyes or mouth (and obviously check with a health practitioner before using during pregnancy or on children). I’ve found that if I’m outside for more than a couple of hours it does help to reapply but to me this is a small price to pay for not being eaten alive or gassed by store-bought bug spray.

Also, feel free to double or triple this recipe if you would like a larger quantity at one time.

Bug Spray Labels

Leave a Reply

