Homemade Strawberry Jam

Strawberry Jam

After seeing a post on strawberry jam by City Boy Hens I was inspired to can some of my own. I was pleasantly surprised by how quickly the whole process went. Within 2 hours I was able to can 8 pints of jam (in 2 batches per the recipe).

Start by trimming and washing your strawberries then make sure they are well drained.  I got 8 pints of jam from 5 pounds of strawberries.

Strawberries

Then mash the berries in a large bowl. I only mashed mine lightly since I prefer a chunkier jam. The more you mash the smoother it will be.

Mash Berries

Next transfer berries to a large pot, add pectin and bring to a boil. Then add the sugar a cup at a time. Once all sugar is added return to a hard boil for 1 minute.

Add pectin & sugar

Next remove your jam from heat and stir for 5 minutes. This is supposed to help keep the jam from separating. After stirring is complete you can pour the jam into hot, sterilized jars and process in a water bath canner for 10 minutes.  After processing is complete remove jars carefully and let cool overnight.

Canner

Lastly confirm all seals are good and store.

Link to recipe I used: http://cityboyhens.com/food/canning/strawberry-jam/

Leave a comment